4 June 2009

PRESS STATEMENT ON 49TH MALAYSIAN MEDICAL ASSOCIATION ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING, 28 MAY 2009 TO 31 MAY 2009

The Annual General Meeting of the Malaysian Medical Association (MMA) was held successfully at the Sunway Convention Centre in Subang Jaya.

In the main AGM, Dr David KL Quek, a private practice cardiologist, was installed as the President of MMA for the year 2009-2011. Dr Mary Suma Cardosa, a government Anaesthesiologist and Pain Specialist was installed as the first ever Lady President-Elect of the MMA—she will be the president from 2011-2013. Dato' Dr NKS Tharmaseelan, a women's health specialist, is the elected Honorary General Secretary. The Honorary Treasurer is Dr Hooi Lai Ngoh from Penang, and two other Deputy Honorary Secretaries were elected, they were Dato' Dr Sarjeet Singh Siddhu and Dr Kuljit Singh.

In the election for the Executive Committee of the Section Concerning House Officer, Medical Officers and Specialists (SCHOMOS), six were elected. The Chairman is Dr Harvinder Singh, ENT Surgeon from Ipoh Hospital. In the Private Practitioners' Section election, four out of six Executive Committee members were elected. Dato' Dr Mohan Singh, a Consultant Private Radiologist from Kuala Lumpur is the Chairman.

The Minister of Health, YB Dato' Sri Dr Liow Tiong Lai and Tan Sri Datuk Dr Haji Mohd Ismail bin Merican, Director General of Health were the chief guests at the Annual Banquet. The Minister announced that the induction will be 4 days instead of 14 days. Doctors who volunteer to serve in Sabah and Sarawak where there is an acute shortage of doctors will be given postgraduate (specialist) scholarships. There will be regular promotions for all sectors of government doctors. The government hopes to achieve the ratio of 1 doctor to 600 people throughout Malaysia by the year 2015. As of 31 December 2008, there were about 25,000 doctors in Malaysia and out of which 15,000 were in government service and 10,000 in the private sector.

To ease the shortage of doctors in the rural areas, the government may soon invite the private clinic doctors to serve for certain hours in the government clinics. The Ministry of Health will liaise closely with the MMA to resolve all doctors' problems.

There were issues about companies dealing with medical insurance cards. They will not be allowed to check clinic case notes and inspect the clinic dispensary. They should not charge for their services. Limiting the consultants' fees to RM15 is too low. These companies should not restrict referral of special cases only to certain private hospitals. The MMA will be meeting the Ministry of Health to sort out the managed care organizations (MCOs).

Five doctors of the MMA were given the long service award Dr P Vythilingam from Kuala Lumpur, Dr Sethugavalar s/o Chinnadurai from Pahang, Dr Hew Kin Sun from Pahang, Dr Thillai Nathan from Kuantan and Dr John Chew Chee Ming from Sarawak. Datuk Dr N Athimulam was bestowed with the MMA Meritorious Award for his dedication and active service to the MMA for the past 30 years. The MMA Outstanding Public and Healthcare Services Award was presented to Dr Gurchran Singh s/o Tara Singh.

About 400 doctors attended this AGM and the issues pertaining to health care were discussed at length. More care will be given to preventive medicine. H1N1 Influenza suspected cases will be handled with care and we will ensure the best for not only to these, but to all patients who seek treatment.

This year, the AGM was organized by the MMA Wilayah Persekutuan branch and next year which will be the 50th year, the AGM will be held in the historical city of Melaka in May 2010.

BY : DR DAVID KL QUEK KMN MBBS (Mal), MRCP (UK), FRCP (London), FAMM (Mal), FNHAM (Mal), FASCC (ASEAN), FAPSC (Asia-Pacific), FCCP (USA), FACC (USA) President (2009-2011) Malaysian Medical Association

AND

DATUK DR N ATHIMULAM *PJK, BKT, PJN, JP, MBBS, DCP, AM* Past President (2001-2003) Malaysian Medical Association

PHOTO CAPTIONS

Photo 1 - Government doctors ExCo - L to R

- 1. Dr Rosalind Simon
- 2. Dr Thevendran
- 3. Datuk Dr N Athimulam
- 4. Dr Harvinder Singh (Chairman)
- 5. Dato' Dr M I Rasan
- 6. Dr S Elangovan
- 7. Dr Vasanthi

Photo 2 - Private doctors - L to R

- 1. Dr S R Manalan (Outgoing Chairman)
- 2. Datuk Dr N Athimulam
- 3. Dato' Dr Mohan Singh (Chairman)
- 4. Dr N Jeganathan (Treasurer)
- Photo 3 Datuk Dr N Athimulam receiving the MMA Meritorious Award from the President, Dr David Quek
- Photo 5 Dato' Dr NKS Tharmaseelan elected as Honorary General Secretary of the MMA and also the President of Malaysian Ceylonese Association